Amazing Grace and the Library Z Zone!

Grace Bamber (check name)Sleep Pod

I chatted with Eureka! 2014 finalist Grace Bamber this week about her soon to be launched new sleep-pod competition idea. Here is what Grace had to say about her student-inspired nap area and her experience of being part of Eureka! 2014 last year.

“About this time last year, an advertisement popped up on blackboard for the Eureka! Innovation Challenge Event. The first prize of £1000 worth of vouchers was tempting, but above all it was an opportunity to do something worthwhile for students. I was hesitant to enter, but figured “it’s worth a shot”.

I never expected to be shortlisted to the final with my idea to introduce “sleep pods”. Looking around campus, it’s actually quite funny to see the crazy places that people doze off, and we realise that coffee doesn’t always cut it at 3am in the Ali G. Short naps benefit alertness, productivity, wellbeing and learning, yet still my idea was met with a mixed response. People seemed to either love it, or were completely confused. One of the judges even compared my idea to a hotel, and asked if I would be providing “pod service” to deliver refreshments! However, companies like Virgin Active and Google are jumping on the bandwagon, and it just makes sense that in providing a 24 hour learning environment, we cater for the 24 hour needs of students.

Although I didn’t come out in the top three, being a finalist was the highlight of my first year at UoM, and I am delighted that next month we will be introducing a sleep pod to AGLC. Presenting at the contact theatre with Phil Jupitus as a host was the most nervous I’ve ever felt, but knowing that all this is happening because of me makes the pressure worth it.

Keep your eyes posted for more information on the soon to be launched z zone!

One thought on “Amazing Grace and the Library Z Zone!

Leave a comment

